Your inside connection to all the LGBT-related news that matters in Ohio and beyond!

When I heard about the new CAPA/Broadway Across America season in Columbus this year, I have to admit I squealed with delight. Some of my favorites and a couple shows I’ve been dying to see are coming our way this year and next!

The first show that immediately caught my eye was “Billy Elliot the Musical.” I’ve been wanting to see this show since I heard they were finally turning it into a musical in 2008 and especially when the show swept the Tony Awards in 2009. It’s based off the AMAZING 2000 movie that was directed by Stephen Daldry and written by Lee Hall, who also wrote the musical with Elton John.  I’m bummed they had to move the show from earlier in the fall to March, due to scheduling conflicts with the tour, but happy it’s coming nonetheless.

I was also excited to see “Memphis” on the list. I don’t know too much about this show, but it did pull an upset at the 2010 Tony’s, winning for Best Musical and few other big awards. According to Wikipedia, it’s about famed radio DJ Dewey Phillips, who was one of the first white DJs to play black music in the 1950s. It’s supposed to be amazing, so I can’t wait to learn more about it.

Some old favorites are also joining us this season. “Mamma Mia” and “West Side Story” (which recently saw a Tony-winning revival on Broadway). “Mamma Mia” is always a crowd pleaser and you can’t doubt the classic brilliance of “West Side Story.” I’m not too thrilled about “Shrek” or “Blue Man Group,” though I’ve heard the latter is pretty good, but we’ll see how those go.

Check out the full schedule below. All shows at the Ohio Theatre (39 E. State Street, Columbus) or Palace Theatre (34 W. Broad Street, Columbus). For tickets head to Ticketmaster.com or call 614-469-0939.

“Mamma Mia,” Dec. 13-18, 2011, Palace Theatre

“Shrek The Musical,” Jan. 10-15, 2012, Ohio Theatre

“Blue Man Group,” Feb. 7-12, 2012, Palace Theatre

“Billy Elliot,” March 20-25, 2012, Palace Theatre

“West Side Story,” April 17-22, 2012, Ohio Theatre

“Memphis,” May 29-June 3, 2012, Ohio Theatre

What do you think? Are you excited? Hate this season’s list? Sound off in the comments!

Leave a Reply

