Your inside connection to all the LGBT-related news that matters in Ohio and beyond!

This week Ru had the queens salute America with a patriotic themed episode. The first challenge seemed a bit out of place as the queens were required to bedazzle a  brassiere, a challenge that Manila won. The main challenge had the top six shooting PSAs for the troops that were supposed to be inspirational and uplifting.

I personally thought this whole idea was extremely ill concieved. First of all, was this episode shot before or after the repeal of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell? I’m assuming it was after and that was the whole point behind why they did this. But even still, the military doesn’t have a record of being gay friendly. I mean, it took 17 years to repeal DADT. I’m just thinking that Ru’s going to send these videos over to the military’s top brass to show the troops and they’re just going to send them right back. Please tell me if I’m off base here, but I just didn’t get it.

And on that note, I have to say I didn’t really like any of the videos either. I think Shangela’s was the best, with Alexis coming as a close second (who also won the main challenge), but they were all a mess. And I don’t think this was necessarily the queens’ fault. It was like Carmen said, lgbt people still have to fight everyday for their freedoms, which doesn’t exactly breed an intense sense of patriotism. Don’t get me wrong, I love my country, but this all seemed a bit much.

Anywho, the judges read the contestants to a ‘T’ (a panel that included the queen himself! Love me some Johnny Weir!) and Alexis came out on top. Carmen and Yara had to lip sync for their lives, but Ru decided to give Yara a second chance and for the first time in Drag Race history no one was eliminated. (Ru better explain this decision next week. And it better be good!)

Favorite Moment: Loved the little “story arc” about Alexis and her ex who is stationed in Iraq. Much attention was paid to her revealing the details of her touching experience with a man who she loved but their relationship couldn’t survive his being sent off to serve overseas. It was nice seeing Alexis show this emotional side, something we haven’t really seen from her yet.

Runway Pick: I thought Carmen looked the best this week. I loved the Kat Von D look she was serving. I didn’t care for Raja’s Native American look. There was just too much going on. And let’s not even get started on Shangela.

My Top 2: Alexis and Manila

Untucked: Looks like Alexis has filled Delta’s absence as one of the “Heathers.” She, Manila, Carmen and Raja dished the dirt on Shangela’s shady behavior, when she refused to help Yara, who has helped her immensely over the past few episodes. While Shangela and Alexis talked about Alexi’s military ex and read each of the girls in the next room.

Missed the episode? You can catch full episodes of RuPaul’s Drag Race and the Untucked specials online at Logotv.com!

Leave a Reply

