Your inside connection to all the LGBT-related news that matters in Ohio and beyond!

According to her Twitter page, Lady Gaga just couldn’t wait until the Grammys on Sunday and released the highly anticipated single “Born this Way” from her new upcoming album this morning at 6 a.m. She’ll be performing the song live for the first time on the Grammys.

I’ve listened to it a couple times and,  I must say, I am loving the song, but I’m not sure the massive hype beforehand was necessary. Her marketing team is amazing, she’ll definitely be making a lot of money off this song and it’ll definitely be at the top of the charts. But I feel like we’ve heard this song before. It sounds just like quintessential Donna Summer mixed with quintessential Gloria Estefan, and is a bit too much like Madonna’s “Express Yourself.” In other words, I’m not sure anybody but us gays will appreciate its amazing-ness.

The lyrics alone are something to celebrate. I don’t think any mainstream pop song that’s gotten the attention this song has, and is going to have, has ever included lyrics directly representing the lgbt community like it does. (“Don’t be a drag, just be a queen…no matter gay, straight, or bi, lesbian, transgendered life, I’m on the right track baby I was born to survive.”)

You can listen to the full song below. And you can per-order the album and download the song here.

What do you think? Was it worth the hype?

Comments on: "First reaction to Lady Gaga’s ‘Born This Way’" (1)

  1. I am definitely feeling the new song, but I think some people may feel a slight letdown after hearing about all the hype for months. The song is reminiscent of Madonna, and I enjoy the feel good mood Gaga embraces. However, her PR people may have set the song up for some people to be disappointed.

    Either way, Gaga will still be on top.

Leave a Reply

